Yodsaphat and Chanthira dominant in home win at U21 World Championship

Udon Thani, Thailand, June 19, 2019 – Yodsaphat Pakham and Chanthira Khanok gave their home fans a lot of excitement after coming up with an opening day win in the women’s main draw of the FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships on Wednesday.

The Thai supporters came in full force to cheer for their teams and celebrated the victory of Yodsaphat and Chanthira in Thung Si Mueang centre court, where the eight-seeded pair dominated their Algerian rivals Melissa Soualmi and Salima Bechar 2-0 (21-5, 21-9) to lead Pool H ahead of China’s Cao Shuting and Dong Jie, who also eclipsed their Chinese Taipei opponents Kung Shih-Wen and Yeh Hsuan-Tsen in straight sets (21-16, 21-19).

Later in the day, top-seeded Thai pair Pawarun Chanthawichai and Saranya Laesood dropped their opening match in Pool A against Germany’s Hannah Ziemer and Hanna-Marie Schieder in straight sets (21-18, 21-15). Mexico’s Silvia Emily Herdrick and Estefania Elizabeth Ibarra also recorded a two-set victory to join the Germans as first day winners.

Quick links - Beach volleyball:
FIVB Beach Volleyball U21 World Championships

In other matches, Brazilian second seeds Victoria Lopes Pereira Tosta and Vitoria De Souza Rodrigues were pushed to their limits as their Russian rivals Anastasiia Frolova and Aleksandra Ganenko made them work for their win in three sets (34-32, 25-27, 15-12), while Poland’s Aleksandra Stadnik and Zuzanna Herrmann got an easier path in Pool B with a 2-0 (21-8, 21-14) win over Morocco’s Maroua El Azhary and Siham Debbab.

Youth Olympic Games gold medallists and reigning U19 world champions Mariia Bocharova and Maria Voronina of Russia started their U21 World Championships campaign with a straight-set (21-12, 21-16) win over yesterday’s triple match winners Iris Fletcher and Abbey Thorup in Pool C.

Other winners on the first day were Mozambique’s Mercia Mucheza/Leocadia Manhica in Pool C, USA’s Isabelle Bauman/Teagan Defalco and Argentina’s Brenda Ailen Churin/Victoria Pozzo Galdon in Pool D, Italy’s Chiara They/Reka Orsi Toth and Germany’s Svenja Muller/Sarah Schulz in Pool E, Czech Republic’s Karin Zolnercikova/Martina Maixnerova and Peru’s Lisbeth Allcca Merino/Medalyn Mendoza in Pool F, and Canada’s Lea Monkhouse/Jasmin Safar and Switzerland’s Esmee Bobner/Mara Betschart in Pool G.

Pool play matches in the women’s main draw tournament will continue from June 20 to 21.


All the News